“Stumped” by a spring bloomer at Greenlake

I decided to take a little stroll around Greenlake this morning to check out the trace of snow and identify a few colorful bloomers I’ve noticed on my runs.

One tree in particular had me racking my brain (back to plants notes, “now where did I see this on the campus”??)….

After a close examination, I noticed this small, rounded, branchy little tree with bright yellow clusters of flowers (opposite branching) was a cornelian cherry dogwood (Cornus mas)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some notes on the Cornus mas: This species of dogwood is hardy from zones 4-8, grows 15-20′ wide x 20-25′ tall, and takes sun to partial shade.  It’s quite adaptable, easily transplanted, and is fairly disease and insect resistant.  Native to Southern Europe and Southwest Asia.

This entry was posted in plant i.d.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

